Board Leadership

Susan Fitzsimmons


Debbie Hubbell

Vice Chair

Gerry Neugent


Steve Lacy


Kristi Knous, MPA, CAPĀ®


Kristi provides the vision and leadership for shaping the Community Foundation's role as a civic leader, grantmaker, philanthropic partner and charitable giving vehicle. She identifies and addresses issues key to the quality of life in the community and oversees the Community Foundation's daily operations. Kristi is an Iowa native and graduate of Iowa State University. She received her Masters of Public Administration and Certificate of Business Management from Drake University. Kristi is also a Chartered Advisor in Philanthropy.

What is one of your favorite things to do in Greater Des Moines?

I LOVE to have a nice dinner downtown and then roam the streets exploring ALL of the wonderful things happening in DSM. I can't possibly pick one! Des Moines: the S's are silent, our city is booming!


Teree Caldwell-Johnson*

Oakridge Neighborhood

Joyce Chapman

West Bank, Retired

Franklin Codel

Wells Fargo Home Mortgage, Retired

Marta Codina

Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.

Mary Coffin

Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., Retired

Peter Cownie

Iowa State Fair Blue Ribbon Foundation

Suzanna de Baca

Business Publications Corporation

Kathy Fehrman

Community Philanthropist

Dr. Adreain Henry

Mercy College of Health Sciences

George Hiller

Hiller & Associates

Dan Houston

Principal Financial Group

Fred Hubbell

Engaged Citizen

Dr. Joseph Jones

Des Moines University

Dan Keough

Holmes Murphy & Associates, LLC

Ardis Kelley

Federal Home Loan Bank of Des Moines

Izaah Knox

Urban Dreams

Marty Martin

Drake University

Todd Millang

Millang Capital

Sheldon Ohringer

Caleris, Retired

Jill Oman

Community Volunteer

Darren Rebelez

Casey's General Stores

Sunnie Richer


Robert G. Riley, Jr.

Riley Resource Group

John Ruan IV

Bankers Trust Company

Mark Rupprecht

R&R Realty Group

Kuuku Saah

Ntontan RE

Brad Schoenfelder

Ryan Companies

Cynthia S. Thorland

Life Care Services, Retired

Emeritus Board Member

Charles H. Betts

Robert Burnett*

Monroe Colston*

Ann Cownie*

James S. Cownie

Johnny Danos*

Robert Dee*

William Friedman, Jr.*

Nolden Gentry

J. Barry Griswell*

H. Lynn Horak

James W. Hubbell, Jr.*

G. David Hurd*

Ted M. Hutchison*

William C. Knapp

Linda Koehn

Donald F. Lamberti

Maddie Levitt*

James E. Luhrs*

Robert Mannheimer*

Amos Pearsall, Jr.*

Marvin Pomerantz*

J. Edward Power*

Janis Ruan

Thomas Stoner*

Fred Weitz