Mission of the Cherokee County Legacy Foundation :

The Cherokee County Legacy Foundation receives, accepts and distributes funds for educational, cultural, civic and charitable purposes for the benefit of the greater community of Cherokee County, Iowa. 

Cherokee County Disaster Recovery Fund

On behalf of our county, the Cherokee County Legacy Foundation has established the Disaster Recovery Fund (DRF) to support our most negatively impacted populations as they face the effects of COVID-19. The DRF provides an opportunity for the public to give with the reassurance their donations will be used to quickly move resources to where they are most needed and to adapt to evolving needs. The flexibility of the fund will ensure that the community will be able to respond to needs that are not being met by existing non-profit, local, state and federal programs.

Give to Cherokee County
 Disaster Recovery Fund

Giving in Cherokee County

The Cherokee County Legacy Foundation is committed to improving the quality of life throughout Cherokee County by investing in area nonprofits through our grant programs and by providing individuals, families and area businesses who love our communities with a way to give back.

Our approaches to giving are personal, simple and flexible. By partnering with us you focus on the joy of supporting the causes you care about in ways that fit your needs, while we ensure the administrative details of giving are taken care of at the highest standard. We offer a variety of charitable giving fund options to match your needs and provide access to unique tax-wise giving opportunities like Endow Iowa, a 25% state tax credit. We are also here to ensure that your charitable legacy continues for generations to come so that the causes and communities you care about today will benefit from your generosity after your lifetime. Whether working with us directly or through your trusted professional advisor, we are here to meet your giving goals and make Cherokee County better together.

View and Give to the Cherokee County Legacy Foundation

Cherokee County Legacy Foundation Grants

Grants are available to 501(c)3 organizations and government entities serving Cherokee County. Grant selections are made in an effort to create a better quality of life for people in Cherokee County. The local governing committee reviews the applications from charitable organizations serving their community.

Application Due: January 31

Click here to download the grant application.

Advisory Board Members

Dan Winterhof - Chair
Bill Anderson Duane Kent
Jason Cook Margaret Rohwer                                                                        
Brian Freed Karen Rupp
Adam Glienke Dana Sleezer