Participants Announced for New Mentorship Program

Jan. 9, 2013 null

As part of the Capital Crossroads five-year regional vision plan, the Social Capital Committee has developed an inter-generational mentorship program that kicks off this month. Community Connect: Mentors Inspiring Success sustains and expands leadership throughout the region by inspiring future leaders and givers through meaningful and creative mentoring connections. The mentorship program is designed to connect participants from all generations to our community's more experienced leaders. This program creates meaningful personal connections and peer mentoring opportunities in a small group setting that ensures personal interactions with mentors in our community. 

The 30 participants selected for the five month program include:

Erica Andersen, Veridian Credit Union

Emily Boyd, Rebuilding Together Greater Des Moines, AmeriCorps Member

Melanie Campbell, United Way of Central Iowa

Christopher Coan, Gannett

Linda Craven, The Iowa Clinic; The Iowa Army National Guard

Audrey Daniels, Blank Park Zoo Foundation Inc.

Amy Eaton, Allegra Marketing, Print, Mail

Max Farrell, Dwolla

Ryan Garvey, Des Moines Arts Center

Brian Hemesath, VolunteerLocal and Tikly

Rebecca Hughes, Meredith Corporation

Hannah Inman, Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation

Amanda Jordan, Greater Des Moines Botanical Garden

Adam Kaduce, R&R Realty Group

Michael Kates, Fort Des Moines Museum

Chelsea Keenan, Business Publications Corp.

Julie Kent, Principal Financial Group

Kathy Koenig, Graduate Student at Iowa State University

Liz Lidgett, Liz Lidgett Fine Art

Colleen MacRae, Dickinson, Mackaman, Tyler & Hagen

Mary Mendenhall-Core, Goodwill Industries of Central Iowa

John Mickelson, The PrivateBank

Joseph Piearson, Iowa Council of Foundations

Lisa Runkel, Iowa State University Foundation

Joe Sheridan, Principal Financial Group

Romelle Slaughter II, Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company via Adecco

Kelly Sparks, Socialize Event Planning and Management

Lauren Steenhoek, Greater Des Moines Convention & Visitors Bureau

Emily Toribio, Iowa Finance Authority

Angela Vander Werf, Wells Fargo

Community mentors include
: Mary Bontrager, Greater Des Moines Partnership; Jay Byers, Greater Des Moines Partnership; Cara Heiden, Wells Fargo & Co., Retired; Phil Hodgin, RDG Planning & Design; H. Lynn Horak, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., Retired; MD Isley, Bravo Greater Des Moines; Scott Johnson, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.; Kristi Knous, Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines; Janette Larkin, Business Publications Corporation; Kaye Lozier, Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines; Scott Raecker, Character Counts In Iowa; Dana Ramundt, The Dana Company; Ying Sa, Community CPA & Associates; and Mary Sellers, United Way of Central Iowa 


Participant John Mickelson, Associate Managing Director at The PrivateBank, says, "The opportunity to learn from these leaders is a priceless piece of career and professional development for those of us participating in Community Connect. In addition to the mentors, my peers in this program also have impressive backgrounds and I'm looking forward to learning from this talented group."


Learn more at Community Connect: Mentors Inspiring Success is funded by the Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines.