Community Connect Participants Announced

Jan. 2, 2014 null

As part of the Capital Crossroads five-year regional vision plan, the Social Capital Committee has developed an inter-generational mentorship program called Community Connect: Mentors Inspiring Success and is pleased to announce those selected as participants in 2014.


Community Connect sustains and expands leadership throughout the region by inspiring future leaders and givers through meaningful and creative mentoring connections. The mentorship program is designed to connect participants from all generations to our community's more experienced leaders. This program creates meaningful personal connections and peer mentoring opportunities in a small group setting that ensures personal interactions with mentors in our community. 


The 30 participants selected for the five-month program include:

Jeff Anderlik, Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield

Pattie Anderson, RBC Wealth Management

Anne Bacon, Bidwell Riverside Center

Kate Banasiak, Diversified Management Services

Jacki Boldt, Des Moines Area Community College

Carrie Clogg, Civic Music Association

Brian Crotty, HDH Advisors, LLC

Kari Dyjak, Amgen

Brianne Fitzgerald, United Way of Central Iowa

Allie Geysen, PepsiCo

Jami Haberl, Safeguard Iowa Partnership

Richard Hannasch, Principal Financial Group

Julie Hergenrader, Daiichi Sankyo

Gregory Jackson, Wells Fargo Bank

Carrie Kruse, City of Des Moines

Zachary Lukasiewicz, SALT Solutions

Ana Mancebo, Iowa Citizens for Community Involvement

Michael McInerney, The Dana Company

David Nelmark, Belin McCormick, PC

Olga Poputnikova, EMC Insurance Companies

Levi Rosol, Goodsmiths

Colleen Scharlau, Marsh & McLennan

Kelsey Sinnwell, Visionary Services, Inc.

Amy Smith, PrimeLending

Joe Sorenson, Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines

Sara Stibitz, Self-employed

Sunni Swarbrick, Simpson College

Angela Ten Clay, TMG Financial Services

Jordan Watkins, Blue Oak Construction Group LLC

Kaylee Williams, VolunteerLocal


Community mentors include: Bob Andeweg, Nyemaster Good, P.C., &  Urbandale Mayor; Mary Bontrager, Greater Des Moines Partnership; Jay Byers, Greater Des Moines Partnership; Mike Colwell, Business Innovation Zone; Cara Heiden, Wells Fargo & Co., Retired; Phil Hodgin, RDG Planning & Design; H. Lynn Horak, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., Retired; Carolyn Jenison, Ballet Des Moines; Kristi Knous, Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines; Rose Mitchell, Hy-Vee, Retired; Alex Piedras, Grand View University; Scott Raecker, Character Counts In Iowa; Dana Ramundt, The Dana Company; and Mary Sellers, United Way of Central Iowa.


Participant Brianne Fitzgerald, Corporate Relations Manager at the United Way of Central Iowa, says, "This is a rare chance to not only be an active participant in the classes, but to connect with outstanding professionals who serve as mentors. I'm excited to learn from them, and to learn more about myself."


Learn more at Community Connect: Mentors Inspiring Success is funded by the Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines and the Greater Des Moines Partnership.


Capital Crossroads: A Vision for Greater Des Moines & Central Iowa is a five year regional roadmap with a geographic scope defined by a 50-mile radius around Central Iowa with the Iowa State Capitol at the center.  Today, more than 500 community and business leaders have volunteered to lead the plan implementation to accomplish short and long-term economic growth throughout Central Iowa. 


The Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines improves quality of life for all by promoting charitable giving, connecting donors with causes they care about and providing leadership on important community issues.we're simply better together.